About Us

What is the VSC

In 1886, the Ohio State Legislature passed the Soldiers Relief Act establishing the Soldiers Relief Commission now called the Veterans Service Commission.

Each of the eighty-eight counties in Ohio has a board of five or more (honorably discharged) veterans appointed to the commission who administer the program for their respective county. Operating expenses and benefits are provided through county tax payer dollars.

Board members and Service Officers are trained by the Department of Veterans Affairs and accredited through the Ohio Department of Veterans Services (ODVS).

How Can I Find Out More?

Please visit our office if you need assistance with obtaining VA Benefits. Our office is located at the corner of Saltwell Road and Route 45 on Dickey Drive in the   County Government Services building.

Call Us!

(330) 424-7214


Kevan Wain


Senior CVSO/Director

Joseph Cattell


County Veterans Service Officer

Debra Smith


County Veterans Service Officer

Lisa Fix


Accounts Payable Clerk

Rebecca Duncan


Claims Clerk

Deborah Kanos


Intake Clerk